The Heart is Where the Home Is

“You won’t be able to say, ‘Here it is!’ or ‘It’s over there!’ For the Kingdom of God is already among you. ””
‭‭Luke‬ ‭17:21‬ ‭

Home.

Ahhhhhhh.

What a marvellous place.

A plot of land with a house on it to call my own. My own little patch of paradise – my personal kingdom from which to direct my minions.

(Okay, so I don’t have any minions. A gal can dream, can’t she?)

I’m sure the first century Jews living in Palestine were eager for just that – a plot of land to call their own. A place from which to operate, with the right to self governance and economic autonomy.

They were waiting.

Waiting for the Kingdom! Waiting for the hated Romans to be ousted on their hobnailed bootstraps.

So Jesus was quick to set the record straight when it came to real estate. It was less of a physical place than a spiritual space.

The Kingdom was already present because Jesus was on earth establishing it.

By faith, this kingdom makes its home in the hearts of its followers.

And since home is where the heart is, this kingdom was now free to become established internally.

This was an inside job.

Think of the benefits.

No borders to manage and patrol. No attachment to ethnicity or race or ruling party or political position. Never dependent upon the circumstances of the day. Not hinged upon current ideology, dictatorships, geography, nationality. Outside of the whims of council votes or coups or revolutionary action.

Just – a profound belonging to a movement that would change and electrify the world.

If you belong to the Kingdom, then your heart is where your home is. And wherever you may be across this vast globe, whatever your political leanings or socio-economic status or gender or the colour of your skin, your heart has become prime real estate, a base of operations for the King of Kings.

Feel the hope of this transcendent inner kingdom with me?

Father, how beautiful to be a part of a global kingdom without borders or flag, people all serving the risen Saviour because our hearts have become Your home. Guide and direct us as we represent You on earth, wherever we may be! Amen.

Published by melodylowes

I am actually a bit of a mess. But in the mess, I’m finding security in knowing I am chosen, I am forgiven, and I matter. After uncovering a history of abuse in my past, I have done a lot of healing - and writing is one way I can invite you deeper into your own healing journey! I write devotionals about the complicated thing called life at growing-in-grace.ca, and my poetry is stashed at melodylowes.com. Pull up a chair and a coffee or tea and let's grow together!

Leave a comment